The Economic Impact of Non-Diverse Romance, Part I: The Quality “Problem”

Alyssa Cole

(Disclaimer 1: this post is a general discussion of the romance industry. Personally, I’ve been lucky enough to work with an awesome agent and attentive editors and publishers, but many, many marginalized authors have not.)

(Disclaimer 2: I know that publishing is hard for white romance authors, too, and that they also face rejection and income issues. Please read with the knowledge that this discussion takes that into account, but is specifically concerned with how there is an even higher barrier to entry for marginalized authors.)

So, I told myself I didn’t want to write about diversity in romance anymore. I’m tired. As Bernie Mac would say, “My body weary.” But for the last few months, something has been rattling around in my brain and I need to get it out.

When we talk diversity in romance, a lot of the discussion focuses on representation, which is super important–I know all too well the…

View original post 1,358 more words

Leave a Reply

