Looking Back — Twelve Days of Write Memories

The best gifts are the ones you don’t always see until you look back on them. During the next twenty two days before Christmas, I’m going to look back on the Write Stuff and share some insights I’ve learned over the years. Primarily, I’ll be highlighting some shows but other little tidbits too. This isn’t to say some shows were better than others. Quite the contrary. I’ve loved all my shows the Lord’s blessed me with hosting. But the gift of it is looking back and seeing how far I’ve come.


BIG NAMES

Most authors have someone in the field they admire . Whether it’s someone who writes in the same genre or a different genre, most writers like to emulate their heroes. I’m no different of course.  My show is open to all Christian authors, ‘great’ and ‘small’, well known or not. In my experience, ‘big name’ authors I’ve talked all had to start from somewhere. I now understand big name authors still have the same insecurities, feelings, blocks, and other writer nuances small fry such as I do. Plus, they tend to be pretty much down to earth.

Tosca-Lee-Author-05-210x300Yet, for myself, when I first hosted New York Times Bestselling author Tosca Lee, I about fell through the floor.  The interview came through an online connection of mine and I couldn’t believe it when she said yes. When you hear the interview, you’ll see how nervous I was because I could hardly talk for a moment.  But thank God for my producer who during the break calmed me down a bit. On this show too, I talked to a good friend of mine Melissa Cain Davis who had just published first apologetic’s children’s book. In retrospect, I wonder if I should have just had one co-host on there. I remember Melissa telling me, “You know, I can TOTALLY take a back seat to Tosca Lee.” At the time,  my thought process was that I didn’t want Melissa to think she was ‘less’ and Tosca was ‘more’. But, we can’t go back and change the past.  Our decisions are final once their done. The show went well.


klr_kimroby_biopicThe next time I spoke to a New York Time Bestselling author, it was Kimberla Lawson Roby. Again,  I could barely keep my feet from falling through the ground. This connection was through my producer who knew a woman who used to work for Terry Perry Studios, Letecia Cunningham. On this episode, Letecia and Kimberla both interviewed.  My phone lines were ringing off the hook that day. It was lovely. Plus, it was the same day I’d sign my first contract with my publisher for my book Many Strange Women. You know,  God really does know how to make those moments sweet.  C’mon! What are the odds I’d have my first book contract with a publisher the same day the Lord blessed me to talk with, for a second time, two high profile ladies?  Conspiracy, anyone?


ReShonda-high-res-300x298About two months ago, I had the pleasure of interviewing ReShonda Tates Billingley, another big name I also admire.  This particular show stood out to me because it was the first time I’d reach out to a big name author myself. The first two were from contacts I knew but this was just me  reaching out with numbers and a prayer. Wasn’t I surprised when she said yes? It was a short interview and we packed a lot of information. Plus, I was able to hook in the bit about her book that was turned into a movie on BET.

I leave it with this thought. Some of those mentioned you may know or not know. In my mind, every single guest I’ve had and hope to have in the future are big names to me. It’s always an honor, always a pleasure, always a reward to showcase my fellow authors.

 

Leave a Reply

