Looking Back — Thirteen Days of Write Memories

The best gifts are the ones you don’t always see until you look back on them. During the next twenty two days before Christmas, I’m going to look back on the Write Stuff and share some insights I’ve learned over the years. Primarily, I’ll be highlighting some shows but other little tidbits too. This isn’t to say some shows were better than others. Quite the contrary. I’ve loved all my shows the Lord’s blessed me with hosting. But the gift of it is looking back and seeing how far I’ve come.

EXPOSING MYSELF

brokenheartWhen I first started this show I wanted to keep it focused on the author. Showcase the author, their works, their books, their hopes and dreams. I’d, of course, mention about my books (nothing wrong with a little self promotion) but for the most part, keep it centered on the co-host.

Over time, I realized I’d become more open about aspects of myself.  Perhaps its the medium itself, my listeners who like listening to me! Yet this particular episode, Empty Womb, Empty Tomb was especially difficult for me.

Behind the scenes of this show, my co-host was scheduled to come but through no fault of her own,  she wasn’t able to make it. I really wanted to interview her about this topic because it would be easy to focus it on her experiences and not mine. But sometimes, we’re put in a position where we have to open about our pain, even when we don’t what to. Secular or Christian women alike, when the womb is empty it tears at the heartstrings. When you have a desire for a child and for whatever reason, you hear no, it’s hard to deal with.

One thing this show taught me was that the show must go on. I ended up doing this entire show by myself, exposing my pain to my listeners. It was difficult and afterward I was a little sad.

Yet the promises of the Lord remain true: Delight thyself in the Lord and He will give thee the desires of your heart.  Over time as we focus on Him, our desire is for His will. Eventually we say, I desire whatever You desire.  And if that’s to be childless or to be a mother, Thy will be done. It’s a hard lesson to learn, even harder words to read, but nevertheless it’s true.

10645158_1086891637991553_4704045195294183955_nEmpty Womb, Empty Tomb shows us how we can triumph through infertility by the Cross. Get your copy today and show my friend Quiana some love!

Leave a Reply

