Looking Back — Fifteen Days of Write Memories

The best gifts are the ones you don’t always see until you look back on them. During the next twenty two days before Christmas, I’m going to look back on the Write Stuff and share some insights I’ve learned over the years. Primarily, I’ll be highlighting some shows but other little tidbits too. This isn’t to say some shows were better than others. Quite the contrary. I’ve loved all my shows the Lord’s blessed me with hosting. But the gift of it is looking back and seeing how far I’ve come.


RECONNECTING TO THE INNER CHILD

grey parker j

Fifth grade!

The Wall and Beyond was the first time I’d ever had a poet on the show. I’d been trying to get them for a while but one wonders if poet’s are shier than writers. Perhaps, as I discovered from the episode, a poet has a unique way of expression. Poetry is an expression of the heart. A subtle song of ideas, impressions, and feelings to describe the world around them. But it’s more than that.

Another thing this show did was take me back to my high school years. Back in high school, I was into the vampire trend then. So one of my poems were called, ‘When the Vampire Drinks’, a rather macabre thing. I wrote it when I was fifteen I think. Maybe fourteen. Then I wrote a poem called, “Whatever Happened to the Love for my Mother?” This particular verse was dreary and sad as the narrator reflects on whether or not she loves her mother. I recited the poem at a school function but someone made sure to let the audience know the poem wasn’t based on real life (seeing as my mother is alive and well and I love her quite fanatically) and it was a tear jerker. Then, the last poem I’d written was called “Death and the Dancer.” It was based off a painting an artist had drawn. The figure of Death was looking back at a Dancer bathed in light. He was licking his chops, a hungry gaze in his eyes. The image affected me so that I spent a week writing the poem.  The words took a note of sensuality and seduction.  After that, I stopped writing poems.  I don’t know if I’ll ever pick it back up again but the poet’s heart expresses.

The gift I received from this show was reconnecting to a childhood passion.  It brought back a lot of memories, and not just of poems but of reading books, writing short stories for class, and other great past times. I wish I had that unfettered free time like I had then!

uic-readJoanna Kurowska’s poems can be found int several books. In this interview, Joanna discusses her two favorite subjects she likes to reflect on — silence and nothingness. They seem like synonyms but as you listen, you discover they aren’t. Make sure you show her some love and buy her books today.

Leave a Reply

