Looking Back — Sixteen Days of Write Memories

The best gifts are the ones you don’t always see until you look back on them. During the next twenty two days before Christmas, I’m going to look back on the Write Stuff and share some insights I’ve learned over the years. Primarily, I’ll be highlighting some shows but other little tidbits too. This isn’t to say some shows were better than others. Quite the contrary. I’ve loved all my shows the Lord’s blessed me with hosting. But the gift of it is looking back and seeing how far I’ve come.


WRETCHED OPTIMISM 

smiletillithurts

Smile till it hurts!

There’s not a person alive who doesn’t deal with self-doubt. I think it’s part of human nature to just doubt one’s abilities. You have your parents who encourage you and your family who supports you. Still, you have to fight the one enemy no one else seems to conquer — yourself.

I think every show I deal with this. Some things that run through my ind are: Everyone hates this show. No one cares. I sound like an idiot. What in the world am I doing?  And all other kinds of encouraging thoughts.

But, I do have what I called ‘that wretched optimism’. The little spark of optimism that keeps me going even when those other thoughts tell me to stop. It’s faith that what I do matters to someone. So if you’re writing, painting, teaching, counseling, working, singing, and a thousand other duties that make the world go around, believe in yourself. I know it sounds like an after school special (yes, I’ve just aged myself) but guess what. Don’t doubt the abilities God gives you. He obviously knows what you’re capable of more than you do.


me websiteAdrienne Thompson is one of the best writers out there. I love her style. Her stories touch on so many different life issues and she accomplished a lot.  She spoke to us in the show Enemy in the Mirror. Show my good friend some love!

 

Leave a Reply

