Guest Co-host and Contributor — Erin Rainwater — June 10th

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAErin Rainwater is a Pennsylvania native who has lived in Colorado for 27 years. She never had the problem of wondering what she would be when she grew up. Nursing was her calling. And beginning in about the seventh grade, there was no question she’d launch her nursing career in the military. As an Army nurse during the Vietnam War era, she was privileged to care for the bodies and spirits of soldiers and veterans, including repatriated POWs and MIAs. Her call as a writer came later in life, and she has incorporated her military experiences into her stories. Erin’s support of the military is ongoing, and one of her favorite pastimes is volunteering at the USO at the Denver airport. Her latest release, Refining Fires, is a 3-part novel set in the 1950s, and is the story of a disfigured war veteran, a nurse with a tainted reputation, a tormented child and a kept woman–strangers whose paths cross, bringing redemption into each other’s lives in ways none of them could have predicted.

Erin was awarded the 2009 Gold Medal in Historical Fiction by the Military Writers Society of America for her Civil War-set novel, True Colors. That novel also won 1stplace in the 2009 Branson Stars & Flags Book Awards. She lives in Colorado with her husband of 40 years. She has four children and five adorable grandchildren.

2 responses to “Guest Co-host and Contributor — Erin Rainwater — June 10th

  1. Hey! This is a first time to reach out but I think I have a story to tell. I am a past diploma RN who took care of a traumatic brain injury husband for 4 years. I wrote a journal to him but sent it to all friends and relatives. I have been told more than once that I should write. My journal is medical. The controversial subject is in my head. But I have no college degree. I have not yet tried to dig up the journals from 2 to 6 years ago. I just want to make sure it is worth it. And I would have to write it anonymously for a charity for I would do no harm to his reputation or his family. But I feel like I have something to contribute to a controversial subject. That is not to say I have the answer. It will definitely turn heads. But I am not a person with an opinion. People can take it for what it is worth. I am a Christian. Actually brought up Episcopal and baptized and confirmed in the same. I am not belonging to a church right now because I am purposely trying to draw a line between my past and future. I need to go on since my husband’s death. I believe i am here for God’s purpose. Maybe i can make a difference in this world. How does one go about writing a book with no college education? Do I get ahold if a publishing company first to protect the rights of the book?

    Thanks
    Sandra

    • Hi Sandra,

      Thanks for reaching out. I don’t believe you have to have a college education to write a story but I can understand your desire to tell your story the best way you know how.

      As far as a solution, you may want to hire someone to write the story for you like a ghostwriter. However, you may find it easier to tell the story yourself, in your own words. And then get a really good editor to assist you.

      Once you get the story written down, the all important question is whether you’d want to go the self-publishing route, vanity press, small press, or traditional publishing house. On my show entitled 21st Century Publishing, I go into all the differences and their advantages.

      I hope that helps and thanks for reaching out.

Leave a Reply

