Writer’s Process Blog Tour

50086811Describe my writing process? Bare to world what Parker J. Cole does to bring about the stories in her head and put them to paper?

Sure!

I have to thank S. R. Karfelt for inviting me to participate in the Writing Process Blog Tour. As the queen of the Glitter Globe, when she ‘asked’ me to participate,  I considered it, my ‘duty’ to obey. After all, compared to this awesome lady and the others you’ll  meet in just a moment, I am a small commoner, kneeling before greatness.

It’s a great opportunity to share with others the wonderful things we have to do as writers. And anything I can do to assist someone in their own writer path, I’m glad to do it.

What am I working on? That is such an easy question to ask, isn’t it? Well, I am working on three projects simultaneously. Project one is the edits of the second book in my Sins of the Flesh series called “The Other Man”. I’ve just received the first round of edits recently and am making my way through them. Project two is the edits of a short story I wrote called “Godforsaken” for an indie author collaboration.  The third project is a manuscript tentatively titled The Doctor’s Cure, a single title contemporary romance. Last but not least, I am researching for a sci-fi dystopian novel I plan to have completed this year. Wait, that’s four.

All in all, I like to keep busy.

How does my work differ from others of its genre? I’d like to think that my work differs from others, especially in the Christian fiction realm, that do not meet the mold. In my romances I deal with issues a lot of Christian authors and readers for that matter may shy from.  In the speculative fiction arena, I like horror and the idea of putting a Christian message or element in a horror story, is one that tantalizes me. I should probably note the kind of horror I prefer is spooky, not gory. In fact, the words ‘Christian horror’ may seem to be an oxymoron.

Not for me.

Why do I write what I do? The long and short of it is this: I grew up as a preacher’s kid who read Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and lots of romances. When I found Christian fiction (I had no idea it existed until little over decade ago) I’d found my happy place!

Also, I love to write.

How does my writing process work? I work a regular 9-5 job every day so my process is often not set in stone. There are times I use my lunch break to get notes down, research, or start working on a paragraph or two. After work, I go home, put on a Star Trek episode, and get cracking on my work. Since my schedule at work may change from day to day, I make sure to outline what I am going to write about. I am a hybrid writer — meaning I write by the seat of my pants (pantser) and I’m a plotter. I think it’s boring to plot the entire book but I do like to plan ahead a chapter or two and have an idea what I am going to write. I’ve found out the more disciplined a writer is, the more successful they can become when finishing a book.

With that said, I like to have my critique partner read while I’m writing. She may look at the first three chapters I write, make her suggestions and recommendations and then send it back to me. By the time I receive it from her, I’ve written more. Some writers may disagree with this method but I like it. It’s helped me write as often as I can.

Now let me introduce you to three authors who totally rock!

amanda_profile-e1377794760882-256x300 (1)Amanda Romine Lynch is probably the zaniest author I know.  Cooler than cool, and loveable as your favorite Teddy Bear with stilettos. She is s a writer and blogger who grew up in Florida. After graduating with her degree in English from the University of Florida (Go Gators!), she and her husband moved to the Great North of Virginia and haven’t looked back (except when it snows).When she isn’t writing about Anabel and Jared or chasing her children around, she blogs about raising her three beautiful boys and attempting to be friendly toward the environment in a world of disposable diapers over at her blog, The Semi-Organic Mom.

 

 

author3My good friend Michelle is another fabulous writer who knows how to take poignant loves stories of flawed characters and turn them into gems. Michelle Lynn Brown is the author of the best-selling Trampled Rose series.  She is also a housewife, mother of three, military spouse, hopeless romantic, and a cuddly lap for one very large cat. She was born in Dayton, Ohio, but raised in El Paso, Texas. Since she married her husband, the military has blessed her with the opportunity to live in many locations, from Germany to Pennsylvania, where she now resides.

 

 

1377275659Samantha is a lady that gets things done. When I grow up, I want to be like her. She started the Christian Indie Authors group before there was a Facebook, she’s a book cover artist, novelist, and an all around great author.

Samantha Fury loves to write, and she hopes to have more books out there soon. If you’re interested in Christian Mystery Romance check out her Street Justice Series. If you like to read Clean Romance check out her books under Samantha Lovern.

Samantha Fury was born in Kentucky, the daughter of a coal miner & his loving homemaker. She is an only child so she spent many hours using her imagination to keep her busy. She graduated in 1984, got married in 1986 and began what she calls her ‘life on the road.’

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Writer’s Process Blog Tour

  1. Thanks for the shout out and I hope to answer these same questions next Monday. I didn’t know you was a Start Trek fan. I love it too, but the old ones. Most evenings I turn on Big Bang though and laugh and then start writing. I think we all have some kind of a day job that keeps us from the thing we love to do most, writing. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Thanks for the shout out, Parker! Great blog. I didn’t know you were a Star Trek fan either! I love that you have it on in the background when you write! Thanks for sharing your “writer’s process”. I’m planning to follow this thread as your highlighted authors share their process too. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

