Fiction Stories, Gospel Facts

large_5415955543 (1)

Original image via Flickr Creative Commons courtesy of Cornelia Kopp

I used to think writing was my talent to use as I wish. It did not occur to me until the last few years that writing is a gift from God and I am meant to use it for His glory. I was nervous about doing it at first. After all, no one’s going to read Christian fiction, are they? Usually, when I tweet about God or make mention of a Christian aspect of one thing or another, I lose followers. Who’s going to read a Christian book?

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Hebrews 12:2a “Looking unto Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our Faith…” I think it’s rather profound that God gave the gift of the arts to His creation and we in turn use those gifts to benefit Him. From dancing, to singing, to painting or drawing, to writing, our talents are meant to be used for His glory.  After all, He gave them to us?

Another interesting thing is there is a subtle movement to get rid of the arts in general. I find this strange. Why would we want to get rid of art? I think it’s because art is the expression of the soul, whether tangible like a book or a sculpture or intangible, like a song, art is what gives us the freedom to show in some miniscule way the gratitude we have for our Creator. Or to use art to touch someone’s soul.

Jesus, when he walked the earth, used parables bring about understanding of spiritual truths. Is it really a surprise that one of the by-products of indie publishing is the rise in Christian fiction? Each author brings about the gospel in their own unique way with their own spin. From romance to horror, Christian authors are taking the gospel message and spreading it throughout the world in new and exciting formats.

With me to unpack this topic is David Johnson, author of the Chadesh Chronicles, a missionary, minister, and Bible student. You can join us by calling in at 646-595-2083, press 1 to be live on air. Or, you can download the WLUV radio mobile app. Or, you can click the link: http://tobtr.com/s/5989527. Any way you can, join us.

One response to “Fiction Stories, Gospel Facts

  1. I read Christian fiction all the time. The key is staying true to who you are. I often write about Christianity through poems, stories and or my personal testimony. I do find that I don’t get as many likes or comments on said subjects. But guess what? don’t care. I write the way the spirit leads.
    This is an interesting topic. Thanks for sharing
    Dee

Leave a Reply

