There May Be Snow on the Roof

Gladness

About a year ago I was standing in front of the mirror when I screamed. My belly knotted and a fine shiver wracked my limbs. I remember seeing a sheen of tears in my eyes. What could cause such a reaction?

I thought I saw a wrinkle.

I related this story to a family member and she said, “Well, you’re getting older. It’s gonna happen.” I could almost see a man with an oiled bare chest ring a gong. For now at least, there aren’t any wrinkles.

*Yet* sidebar from Satan.

When did it happen? Where did the time go? It seemed only yesterday I was sixteen years old. Now forty is coming sooner than expected.

Some of you may say, “Geez! She’s almost forty? Good grief. Call me when you hit sixty.” Regardless, the moment has arrived when I can say with all sincerity, “Dude, I’m getting old.”

I think I’m one of millions who want to avoid that. I have to  remind myself that getting older is a privilege when taking into account how many children die each year.

This ‘forever young’ attitude is reflected in Hollywood as various celebrities stave off old age for as long as possible. Face lifts, tummy tucks, nose jobs, collagen injections and so forth and so on.  Anything to remain young.

Whenever I get freaked out reflective on getting older, I think of Sarai, Abram’s wife. At seventy-five years old, she had men who wanted her because she was considered very beautiful. I think of John the Baptist’s mother Elizabeth, who gave birth to him in her old age. I think of Caleb who was eighty five years old and still retained his strength to take his blessing. I think of Moses who lived to be 120 years old and retained his sight and vigor.

There are some of the select few of ‘old’ people in the Bible. Perhaps their bones may have creaked and popped. Maybe they had to get a servant to get the cramps out of their legs. Who knows? But getting older wasn’t a problem for them.

So there may be snow on the roof but there’s a fire in the furnace. I’ve often heard this adage in reference to innuendo about one’s prowess. However, I’ve come to think of it as fire or life that is hidden inside of us as well get older. As the saying goes, “You’re only as old as you feel.”

Here to help us unpack this topic is Kathy Nickerson. Feel free to call and ask questions of our guests. You can call in at 646-595-2083 press 1 and you’ll be live on air. Or, you can listen to use live via the web by clicking the link here: http://tobtr.com/s/5808147 Or, you can download the WLUV Radio app on your mobile device and listen to us that way. There are all kinds of ways to connect so join us.

Leave a Reply

