Midnight Sunshine — Thirteen

Original image via Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Zoltán Bánfalvy

Original image via Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Zoltán Bánfalvy

The very first time I received a rejection from a publisher regarding my book, I was ‘okay’ with it. After all, I’d heard about other authors who receive lots of rejections so I’m simply one of thousands.

The second time I received a rejection, my eye twitched but again, I held on to the idea that publishing is a cutthroat business, so two rejections are to be expected. After all third time’s the charm.

The third rejection sent me into in a frenzy drinking of chocolate milk with whipped cream and eating a whole bag of marshmallows as I watched the episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation entitled, “A Matter of Perspective” over and over again.

The fourth one merely caused me to repeat the actions of the what happened the third time although I added a 2 liter Mountain Dew to the stash.

By the fifth one, I wanted to cry. But I didn’t. However, I used the time wisely — I wallowed in self pity for at least a week an hour.  My husband took away the milk and the marshmallows in order to save myself from more unwanted empty pounds.

When number six came, I felt as if a bear had taken a bite out my body. Satan’s number, some would say.  I couldn’t believe six publishers rejected my book. Didn’t they know how hard I worked on it? Why would they chew on my flesh like this? My soul, my mind, my art, were on the line here. Maybe I shouldn’t write again. Obviously what I think about my writing isn’t what attracts anyone.

At this point, I should mention I had intervention.  The collaborative efforts of Mom, Dad, agent, sisters, husband, best friends, good friends, fellow author colleagues, and long sessions of prayer got me through the blows these rejections had done to me.

See, I had heard about rejection in this field. But now I knew about it. Let me tell, knowing a thing is a lot more insightful than hearing about it.

When the seventh one came, it didn’t hurt as much. Maybe because it finally got into my head that it wasn’t the end of the world. As one of my colleagues said, “If this is what God wants for you, it will happen.” Thanks Laurie!

With the eight rejection, I barely looked at it. After all, I had other work to do with a new project coming out soon.

The ninth came and I’d completely forgotten my agent had submitted to that particular publisher.

About the tenth time, I remarked on my FB page how Adrian Monk would feel about it. He’d say, “At least the rejections are even.” I knew inside, I’d started to toughen up my skin.

I have no memory how I reacted to the 11th one — except to remark that Adrian Monk would be depressed about that.

I mentioned the 12th rejection on my show and my guest, Kenneth said, “Why do we keep the rejections? Throw them away.” He certainly had a point there.

Last week, I got an email from my agent and she said ‘Congratulations Jen.” I had no idea what she was talking about when she said that.  Condensing down the conversations we had back and forth, for a moment, I didn’t believe her. Obviously, she had the wrong person. But when I came to my senses, I started crying.

Who knew acceptance would make the tear ducts flow?

So now, I am pleased to say that my book, Many Strange Women, part of my Christian romance series entitled, “Sins of the Flesh” will be released on January 28, 2014. A Tuesday, which is my second favorite day of the week.

Of course, for Monk, he’d probably be despondent. Thirteen is not a good number for him but it turned out to be the right one for me.

4 responses to “Midnight Sunshine — Thirteen

Leave a Reply

