Where Excuses Go to Die — Powerful Author Marketing Strategies

large_125138964

Image via Flickr Creative Commons courtesy of Thomas Quine

“Where Excuses Go to Die” is a memoir written by John Nelson which details his life experience and I was struck right to the core when I heard the title of his book.

I had the privilege of being on the radio show ‘The Road Less Published” tonight and you can listen to it here.  The show discussed Five Reasons Why Writers Quit and some of the reasons were:

–Fear

–Life Circumstances

–Rejection

–Discouragement

–Financial constraints

As I looked at the total sum of those reasons why writers quit I realized that all reasons added to one major barrier – me.

On the show, I mentioned that it took ten years for me to write my first book.  Although my book deals with a controversial subject, I do not believe I was as equipped to deal with the topic fictionally ten years ago. But there were other stories in my mind that I could have written. Other characters that sought recognition. But I allowed these things to hold up my writing career. After a while, as my birthday came along, I knew that I wanted my book to be published.  I remember thinking earlier that year,  “I don’t want to still be writing this book next year. I want this book to be published. I’m turning X number years old, it’s now or never.” My husband paved the way for the book to be published and by my birthday, the dream became reality.  For me, the excuses  died as my birthday neared.

The indie author movement has exploded. It is now easier than ever to be an published author. Yet, some authors may publish their books but they’re not sure how to market their product. Their excuse, if you will, is misinformation. On this show, we will kill that excuse by giving powerful author marketing strategies to get your message out to as many eyeballs as possible with our guest co-host and contributor, Fran Briggs.

If you have questions, feel free to call in at 646-595-2083 or listen to the show by going to http://www.blogtalkradio.com/wluvradio.

3 responses to “Where Excuses Go to Die — Powerful Author Marketing Strategies

  1. I’m my own biggest barrier to myself also, if you can follow that. I have to say, I love what you’re doing here. I think it’s really cool that you incorporate live radio/talk shows into the writing world. IT is definitely something new and different, and I’m excited to learn more about it! I’m glad you stopped by and put up this link!

Leave a Reply

