Adversity, Trials, and Triumph

medium_4652061554

Original Image via Flikr Creative Commons, courtesy of mliu92

I had no idea when I planned today’s show that the city of my birth, Detroit, would be filing for bankruptcy.  When I heard about it, it left me in a state of shock and sadness. I hadn’t even known a city COULD file for bankruptcy.

And it showed just how bad things really were.

I can remember the day, several years ago now, when my father lost his job. Then a few months later, my mother lost hers.  My sisters and I had been living on our own for a year and when we heard about it, we started to do the best that we could to support two households. However, it wasn’t sustainable. One car was taken, and then the other one. Bills piled up and no jobs to be found for older, mature couples.

Then the house I grew up in went into foreclosure and a year went by.  The day my parents moved out, two Mormon missionaries came by to help with clearing out.  And then my parents and baby nephew moved in with my sisters and me. I remember driving by the house a few times after that, sitting in front of it and bursting into tears. This had been my home and there wasn’t a thing I could do to save it. I had tried but what could I do?

Adversity and trials are a way of life. They come and there are times when there is nothing you can do about it. I am an emotional person. I’m one of those people who do poorly in a medical crisis—I discovered my ineptitude the day my grandmother had a seizure two years ago and I called my twin sister in a frenzy. She works in a hospital. Surely she would tell me what to do. “Granny’s tripping out. What do I do?” She gave me her most professional, well thought out advice. “Call 911, stupid!”

Needless to say, I don’t handle adversity well. My sisters are quite capable of dealing with it in an analytical way. I simply cry. They work to see what solutions can be made and see it through. I simply cry and they usually have to comfort me in their typical fashion: “Shut up crying, you weakling. If you wanna do something useful, pray!”

Inspirational and Christian writers have a very unique ability to take adversity and apply a godly view of it. Adversity is not insurmountable and it’s nothing you have to handle alone since triumph comes through God, who sustains us and makes us stronger.

On today’s show, we will be discussing adversity, trials, and triumph with an author who is no stranger to difficulties but has triumph because of his faith in God.

Do you have a story of adversity and triumph? Share your story with us by calling 646-595-2083 at 7:00 pm Eastern Time. We’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

